top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaxwell Jeffries

'Dragon of the West' - Out 18th September

Updated: Aug 17, 2020



Artwork by @istalri_
Dragon of the West - Artwork by @istalri_

Where to start with this song? I honestly think this is my best song to date, with the best chorus, the best arrangement and the best lyrics I've ever written. I've spoke in the past about my love for the softer side of rock and metal and I wanted to try and write my first ballad with this track, using more orchestral instruments than ever before and making sure the chorus had a big emotional hit. So that's exactly what I did! 'Dragon of the West' is Underking's first ballad and I really think that I've settled into a writing style that is authentic to myself and my influences.


 

The lyrics centre around a soldier who has lost their son in a war, becoming jaded with the reason they conscripted in the first place. For those of you are interested, the song is based off of the character's of Iroh and Lu Ten from Avatar: The Last Airbender and that's reflected in the amazing artwork for the single by @istalri_. I recently rewatched the series and it's been such an incredible inspiration to me since. If you haven't watched the show, it really is well worth your time - having some of the best characters and character development I've ever seen in a show. The song might also hit a bit harder emotionally as well but I think I've written it in such a way where you don't have to have watched to understand the emotion!


 

The song features the production talents of SAW Audio (Stephen Waltl) and he's done an amazing job! I've been hard at work on future material and this will be my last original song of the year but I'm incredibly thankful to everyone who has checked out Underking this year - the amount of support I've received for this project has really blown my mind! Anyway, I hope everyone is doing well and I'm so excited for everyone to hear the song next week on the 18th!


- Max


 


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page